Pic of the Week – 1/19/13

January 24, 2013 at 3:44 pm | Posted in Pic of the Week | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

NatureJan13 089

If there’s one thing you’ll come to find I absolutely love, it’s babies!  Even newly hatched baby birds, ugly as they may be, to me are are so ugly that they’re actually cute!  While this isn’t a newly hatched baby, I still love this shot.  This picture is from a recent trip to Green Cay Wetlands in Boynton Beach.  It’s not often that I see a Black Crowned Night Heron, in fact I only saw my first one last year, and can count how many I’ve seen collectively on my fingers.  I saw this funny looking guy sitting in the tree and was trying my best to figure out exactly what it was.  You can imagine my bird-nerd excitement when I saw momma bird sitting in the background, a Black Crowned Night Heron.  As soon as I saw her, I could immediately see the family resemblance (ok, species resemblance, but you get what I mean.)  They’re one of my favorite birds, and this weeks pic of the week.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

