All Alone on Deerfield Beach

March 29, 2012 at 6:57 pm | Posted in One Shot Wonders | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I’ve had people ask me over and over, “What on earth are you taking a picture of?!” If you’ve visited my “Getting the Shot” tab of my page, you’ll see a picture of me taking a picture while dangling my son under my arm like Baby Blanket. That’s why I decided it was time to introduce this guy…

One day, my friends and I took our kids to the beach in hopes of letting them play. True to our horrible luck, it turned out to be not-so-nice stormy weather. The beach was empty, with one exception – this lone little hermit crab. Obviously thrilled to have the beach alone, he was happily scooting across the sand and climbing rocks when we found him. You could see the look in his eyes “Tell me you’re not going to stick me in your pocket and take me home!”  Of course not, little guy, I have enough people and animals needing me to clean, feed, and pay attention to them at home. So we watched him for a while, he was just minding his little crabby business. This was the first time I have seen a hermit crab on Deerfield Beach. (I have seen them lots down in the Keys, but not up here.) I hope that he really was a wild animal, not a lost little crab that was dumped on the beach because someone didn’t want to take care of him any more. Regardless of how he got there, he was happy, and I can only hope anyone else who might have come across him noticed this and left him alone too.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

